Home › Page › E. Philip Horwitz, 2016 Seaborg Award Winner

E. Philip Horwitz, 2016 Seaborg Award Winner

2016 Glenn T. Seaborg Award for Nuclear Chemistry

sponsored by the ACS Division of Nuclear Chemistry and Technology

(from the January 4, 2016 issue of C&E News)


Philip Horowitz is being honored for the development of novel solvent extraction processes and extraction chromatographic materials for the analytical, preparative, and process-scale separation of actinides and fission products.

Current position: senior consulting scientist and founder, Eichrom Technologies

Education: B.S., chemistry, University of Cincinnati; Ph.D., inorganic chemistry, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

Horwitz on his scientific role model: "Glenn T. Seaborg pioneered the entire field of actinide chemistry and made major contributions in modifying the periodic table of elements."

What his colleagues say: "Phil’s special genius lay in being able to devise a complete separation cycle. ‘What goes in must come out’ is one of his manifest laws of separation."—Bruce A. Moyer, Oak Ridge National Laboratory