HomeKinard Award › 2018 Kinard Award Winner – Steve Yates

2018 Kinard Award Winner – Steve Yates

Congratulations to Prof. Steve Yates (University of Kentucky), recipient of the 2018 W. Frank Kinard Distinguished Service Award. Steve will receive his award at the NUCL business meeting during the ACS Fall National Meeting in Boston.

Prof. Yates has been a member of the American Chemical Society since 1971. In the Division of Nuclear Chemistry and Technology (NUCL), he has played an active role division leadership. Prof. Yates held executive roles for 12 years and was the chair during 1992. He advocated for support and recognition of graduate nuclear and radiochemistry programs and served as the editor of an NUCL recruiting brochure during the mid-1980s. He has contributed to the extremely important San Jose and Brookhaven summer schools on nuclear and radiochemistry for undergraduates, both as an instructor and organizer, since 1984. He has campaigned for the return of the US stable isotope program, attending many meetings with the Department of Energy.

For the national ACS organization, Prof. Yates served as a Councilor for the NUCL for many years. He has worked on the committees for execution of the annual meetings and dealing with issues that occur. He has assisted with multidisciplinary programs and planning, including duties related to communication between the academic and industrial sectors of ACS and committees related to small chemical business development. He served on the ACS Joint-Board which identifies new frontiers for chemical science, makes recommendations for ACS efforts in those directions, and examines the scientific basis of public policy decisions and provides recommendations for the ACS response.

Comments are closed.