HomeUncategorized › 2015 Glenn T. Seaborg Award Recipient

2015 Glenn T. Seaborg Award Recipient

Heino Nitsche has been announced as the recipient of the 2015 Glenn T. Seaborg Award for Nuclear Chemistry, sponsored by the ACS Division of Nuclear Chemistry and Technology. Sadly, Heino passed away in mid-July 2014. The ACS NUCL division will hold a symposium in his honor at the 2015 Spring ACS National Meeting in Denver, CO. Heino Nitsche was a faculty member in the Department of Chemistry at University of California, Berkeley. He was also the leader of the Nuclear Science and Security Constoriums’s Nuclear Chemistry and Radiochemistry focus group, overseeing the cutting edge research in nuclear and radiochemistry of heavy elements, radioisotope science and development, rare isotope harvesting, basic studies of chemical fractionation in fallout formation and nuclear forensics, as well as studies of chemistry of irradiated materials, with a goal to develop and transfer technology useful for nuclear forensics and international safeguards. Heino was a member of the team that confirmed the existence of element 117. The team included several of his former students.

Comments are closed.